Trois Itinérances

Chamber music without conductor
15 min.
Soprano, alto sax, piano
Date de création

Trois Itinérances (2016) [Three journeys]

3 Pieces for soprano, alt saxophone (or Bass clarinet) and piano

I.  A toi, la femme japonaise  [for you, Japanese woman]

            (text by the composer)

II. Retour [on the way back]

            (text by Charlotte Materne)

III. Iro ga mazareba mazaru hodo  [More the colors are mixing]

            (text by Noriko Yakushiji)


This work was commissioned by the Atom Trio (Noriko Yakushiji - voice, Yukari Uehara - saxophone, Ayako Morita, piano) to greet the 150th anniversary of the cultural relations between Belgium and Japan. From then on, these three pieces are situated at the crossing of these two landscapes rich in their mutual imagination. They offer us whispered words with passion, nostalgia, sometimes vehement fragments of itinerant words which cross the airs to gather the souls of both inhabitants of the "Land of the rising sun" and Belgium.

In the middle of the cycle, a drama, in memory of the victims of the terrible terrorist attack of Brussels of March 2015. A tribute also to the Belgian film-maker Gilles Lauren, lover of the Japanese culture. He died during this tragic event. Charlotte Materne's text plunges us into the Brussels inhabitants anxiety the week after the attack. But it expresses also the need for a Life which claims its right.

Again, this expression of life constitutes the main topic of pieces I and III by way of antidote metaphores against the dramas of our time. To begin with the passionate and soft poetic thoughts of the first text which connect the composer to the Ideal of the Japanese woman. Afterwards, the third piece, as a symmetric action to the first one, proposes us the colored and nostalgic evocations of a Japanese woman in residence in a so quiet Belgium... too far from the neons of Tokyo.

Poetry, love, listening of the distant and the other, echoes of friendships and the necessary human link for the humanity ; all these words and the sounds they inspire seem to be vital in order to create a new and more human century, fighting against the tragedies of our time.

These three journeys are dedicated to the wonderful musicians of the Atom Trio as well as Charlotte Materne and « to all the victims of inhumanity » (II), to Noriko Yakushiji and « to all the human beings in search of hope » (III).
This work was written with the Financial support of the Cultural office of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation,

This work was premiered by the Atom Trio at the JT Affinis Art Hall, Tokyo (Japan) on November 29th 2016 .


Texts :

I.  A toi, la femme japonaise

Je voudrais être un volcan solitaire de ton pays bien-aimé,

Brisure de terre, éclat de mer

Glissant sur ta peau au parfum de kombu.

[A toi la femme japonaise]

A toi ce désir de soubresauts telluriques

A toi, l'exquise d'orient/désorientée/orientée vers l'ouest trompeur

Vers l'éternel couchant

Que glisse ce volcan dormant

Qu'il rentre sous ton manteau

Pour s'effondrer au creux de ta lune profonde

Soubresauts telluriques encore inassouvis

Que la lave se déverse en flots capricieux

Au profond de cette biffure d'Asie

exhalée par le tremblement de ton être.

(Claude Ledoux)


II.    Retour

Retour dans le prémétro / Marcher 20 minutes jusqu'à la station ouverte la plus proche / Voir les militaires, un camion, puis un deuxième arriver, débarquer [t t t t t t…] trois hommes armés / Se dire [k k k kill kill kill kill] qu'ils sont la pour nous protéger / Chercher la seule entrée accessible / La trouver, se faire fouiller / Descendre sur le quai, encore des militaires / Silence / Un calme religieux malgré des panneaux d'affiche chaotiques / 5 minutes annoncées, puis 10, retour à 5, annulation / silence dans la rame / Regarder tout autour de soi, se rassurer en se disant que tout ces gens ont aussi été fouillés / le tram traverse des stations fantômes, fermées, plongées dans l'obscurité / Des gens qui commencent a s'énerver de ne pouvoir descendre à l'arrêt souhaité / fermés, puis... / puis la prise de conscience, le métro a sauté il y a deux jours / On descendra quand on pourra / Descendre / Un quai désert / Entrer dans la gare / Les chemins balisés, les accès interdits, les militaires / Deuxième fouille / Une gare calme / Des panneaux d'affichage plus chaotiques encore que ceux du pré-métro /

Le calme, malgré tout...

(Charlotte Materne)


III.  Iro ga mazareba mazaru hodo


(iro ga mazareba mazaru hodo )


(sukitootte iku ano sora ni)


(sakura iro no kaze ga mau)


(machi no gin iro surinukete)


(oto wo motarasu kono kaze wo)


(sotto asa no fukuro ni tsume)


(hakubo iro no sora ni maku)


(sakura ga neon ni kawaru toki, minna ha kokoro kara hakushu suru)

(Noriko Yakushiji)